Sibley County Commissioner Election Results


There will be two new faces on the Sibley County Board of Commissioners next year.

Joy Cohrs of New Auburn Township defeated Steve Gillaspie of Green Isle Township 751 to 497 in the District Four Commissioner race. Cohrs’ victory is also historic because she is the first woman to be elected to the Sibley County Board of Commissioners.

District Four includes the City of Green Isle, City of New Auburn, Green Isle Township, New Auburn Township, Transit Township, Bismarck Township, Moltke Township, and Grafton Township.

Cohrs will fill the seat held by Charlie Woehler of Green Isle Township. Woehler has served four and a half terms, according to the County Auditor’s Office.

Jim Nytes of Henderson Township defeated incumbent Leo Anderly of Jessenland Township in the District One Commissioner race 721 to 674. The First Commissioner District includes the City of Henderson, and Washington Lake, Henderson, Jessenland, and and Faxon Townships.

Harold Pettis of Gibbon was re-elected District Five Commissioner. Pettis, who was unopposed, has served three terms. The Fifth Commissioner District includes the Cities of Gibbon and Winthrop, and Severance, Cornish, and Alfsborg Townships.

Other County officials were unopposed in the election.

Elected were Attorney David Schauer, Auditor Lisa Pfarr, Recorder Kathy Dietz, Sheriff Bruce Ponath, and Treasurer Mary Fisher.

Thomas Pfarr was elected Soil and Water Supervisor for District One. Paul Wiemann was elected Soil and Water Supervisor for District Two. Both were incumbent candidates.

There was a 71.92% voter turnout in Sibley County, according to the County Auditor’s Office.