Two file for supervisor’s seat in Transit Twp.


Transit Township will have the only race in area township elections November 2.

Jim Janicke and Larry Bumgardner have both filed for a four-year term as supervisor.

Brad Voss has filed for two-year supervisor’s term, which was created by the resignation of Arden Kuehn. Incumbent clerk Wayne Grams is unopposed.

Kelso Township will have a write-in ballot for the four-year supervisor’s term. No one filed for the position.

Mary Ann Buck filed for the two-year supervisor’s term. She was appointed to the position following the death of her husband, Maurice Buck. Marlyes Latzke has filed for clerk. Long-time clerk Jim Pfarr did not seek re-election. Latzke has served as deputy clerk for several years.

Incumbents have filed for re-election in other area townships.

In Alfsborg Township, James Kuphal filed for supervisor and Walter Asmus filed for clerk.

Allen Fredin filed for supervisor and Lori Doering filed for clerk in Dryden Township.

In New Auburn Township, Dale Schauer filed for supervisor and Donald Wolff filed for clerk.

Ed Pioske filed for supervisor and David Kahle filed for clerk in Sibley Township.

Sibley Township will have two questions on the ballot. Sibley Township will have a question whether or not to combine the clerk and treasurer’s position. Kahle has been serving in both capacities since the death of the township treasurer, Karl Dietz, last year. If the question is approved, the office would be combined beginning Jan. 1, 2011.

Sibley Township’s other ballot question, which will also be asked of Dryden, Kelso and New Auburn Township voters, is whether or not to transition to six year terms for town supervisors. In the past, the supervisors have served four year terms.

Filing closed for township offices August 17.