Recount in City Council race planned for Friday


And the winner is…..? There will be an official answer to that question Friday when the City of Gaylord administers a recount in the race for City Council.

In last week’s general election, incumbent Carl Wetzel and newcomers Chad Muchow and Susan Johnson-Schmitt were vying for two spots on Gaylord’s City Council.

Muchow was the top vote-getter as he garnered the support of 710 voters. Wetzel followed with 472 votes, two more than Johnson-Schmitt. There were 1,000 votes cast in the City of Gaylord out of a possible 1,260 registered voters.

According to the 2008 City Clerk Election Guide, a recount is not automatic but can be requested by the losing candidate. Johnson-Schmitt requested the recount last week. Because of the narrow margin in this case, the recount is being done at the expense of the City.

City Attorney Doug Nesvig reported that the hand recount will be administered by City Administrator Kevin McCann. City staff is also expected to assist in the recount. According to McCann, there would be an expense for the employee hours dedicated to the recount.

This is believed to be the first recount in a City of Gaylord election in several decades.

The recount will be held in the basement of the Sibley County Courthouse beginning at 9:00 a.m on Friday, November 14th. The recount is open to the public, Nesvig reported.


Results from area municipal elections are as follows:

City of Arlington
Newcomers Jim Pederson and Bob Pichelmann received 624 and 617 votes respectively and were each elected to serve four-year terms on the Arlington City Council.

Also elected was incumbent John Griep. He received the support of 478 Arlington voters.

City of Green Isle
Three incumbents ran unopposed and were reelected to the Green Isle City Council. That group included Green Isle Mayor Randal Bruegger and council members Dale ZumBerge and Chuck White.

City of New Auburn
New Auburn residents elected incumbents Mike Hauan and Jim Stark to the town’s City Council. Stark was the top vote-getter with 135 votes. Hauan received the support of 84 voters, 13 more than challenger Craig Lowden.

Also reelected was New Auburn Mayor Roger Becker. He was running unopposed.

City of Winthrop
David Trebelhorn defeated Brent Roiger in the race for Mayor in the City of Winthrop. Trebelhorn received 407 votes while Roiger had the support of 221 Winthrop voters.

Elected to the Winthrop City Council were Edmund Pelletier, Peter Machaiek and Julie Longbrake. There were no challengers in these races.