Filing opens July 4 for school board and county offices


Technically, filing documents may be executed on Tuesday, July 4 for the Sibley East School Board and county offices.

However, those who plan to file for office will have to wait until Wednesday, July 5 because government offices will be closed July 4 due to the Independence Day holiday.

The positions will be filled at the general election on Tuesday, November 7. Filing closes Tuesday, July 18 at 5 p.m.

Sibley East School Board

The terms of school board members Mark Brandt, Tom Webster, and Dan Woehler will expire at the end of this year. School board members serve a four year term of office.

An affidavit of candidacy must be filed in the office of the school district clerk. The filing fee is $2.

A candidate for office must be an eligible voter, must be 21 years of age or more upon assuming office, must have been a resident of the school district for 30 days before the general election, and must have no other affidavit on file for any other office at the same general election.

Sibley County Offices

If you are interested in serving in county government, there are a variety of positions to choose from.

Three county commissioner seats will be on the ballot. They are for First District County Commissioner, a position held by Lee Anderly of Jessenland Township. The First District includes Faxon, Henderson, Jessenland and Washington Lake Townships, and the City of Henderson. Anderly has served as commissioner since 2003.

The Second District Commissioner position is presently held by Charlie Woehler of Green Isle Township. The Second District includes Bismarck, Grafton, Green Isle, Moltke, New Auburn, and Transit Townships, and the Cities of Green Isle and New Auburn. Woehler has served as commissioner since 1993.

The Fifth District Commissioner seat is presently held by Harold Pettis of Gibbon. The Fifth District includes Alfsborg, Cornish, and Severance Townships, and the Cities of Gibbon and Winthrop. Pettis has served since 1999.

Filing also opens for County Attorney, held by Dave Schauer; County Auditor, held by Lisa Pfarr; County Recorder, held by Kathy Dietz; County Sheriff, held by Bruce Ponath; and County Treasurer, held by Mary Fisher.

Positions are also open for two seats as Soil and Water District Supervisor. They are for District No. 1, which includes Arlington, henderson and Kelso Townships, and the Cities of Arlington and Henderson, and District No. 2, which includes Dryden, New Auburn, and Sibley Townships, and the Cities of Gaylord and New Auburn. Harold Melsha serves as first district supervisor, while John Paulmann serves as the second district supervisor.

Candidates must file in person or by mail with the County Auditor’s office.